New Releases
Historical Fiction
Younger Readers

Complete Listing

Other Sellers

Our Books
About Us
Contact Us

Historical Fiction / Church History / The Martyr's Victory

Save 20% Through Midnight, November 30th

Emma Leslie Church History Series

The Martyr's Victory
The Martyr's Victory
A Story of Danish England

by Emma Leslie

Illustrated by W. S. Stacey

Read the First Chapter!
(Requires Adobe Reader)

Story Synopsis

   Knowing full well they may die in the attempt, a small band of monks sets out to convert the savage Danes who have laid waste to the surrounding countryside year after year. The monks’ faith is sorely tested as they face opposition from the angry Priest of Odin as well as doubts, sickness and starvation, but their leader, Osric, is unwavering in his attempts to share the “White Christ” with those who reject Him. Then the monks discover a young Christian woman who has escaped being sacrificed to the Danish gods—can she help reach those who had enslaved her and tried to kill her?

Story Setting:  Danish England in 879 - 883 A.D.
Notable People and Events:  King Edmund, King Guthrum, Viking Invasions
Originally published in 1886; 266 pages; For Ages 12 – Adult

Save 15% when you purchase this book as part of the 6-Book Early Church Set

Save 25% when you purchase this book as part of the 12-Book Church History Set

   "We just read The Martyr's Victory and we loved it. It truly challenged our faith as a family. Thank you for publishing great reading material for the whole family."  ~  Patricia L.

   "We followed a small band of monks who choose to live among their enemies in hopes of sharing Christ, and admired their selfless dedication to their Lord and those He came to save."  ~  Julie from Tennessee

Emma Leslie (1837-1909), whose actual name was Emma Dixon, was a prolific Victorian children’s author who wrote over 100 books. Emma Leslie brought a strong Christian emphasis into her writing and many of her books were originally published by the Religious Tract Society.

Also by Emma Leslie:

Junior Church History Series
For Merrie England
Hilda the Briton
The Magic Runes
Soldier Fritz
Through Stress and Strain

Church History Series
Before the Dawn
The Captives
Dearer Than Life
Elfreda the Saxon
Faithful, But Not Famous
From Bondage to Freedom
Glaucia the Greek Slave
Gytha's Message
Leofwine the Monk
Out of the Mouth of the Lion
Sowing Beside All Waters

|Home|  |Shipping Rates|  |Complete Listing|  |About Our Books|  |About Us|  |Contact Us|

© 2009 Salem Ridge Press LLC